

EAPS Award Ceremony and General Assembly 2020: report

Due to the covid-19 pandemic this was a virtual event which took place on 15 October 2020 from 16.00 - 17.00 hrs. The event was attended by some 75 members and was chaired by EAPS President Helga de Valk.

During the Award Ceremony the Juries of the various awards of EAPS announced the 2020 laureates:

- EAPS Award for Population Studies: Elizabeth Thomson (University of Madison, Wisconsin and Stockholm University);
- Dirk J. Van de Kaa Award for Social Demography: Daniele Vignoli (University of Florence);
- Trailblazer Award for Demographic Analysis: Martin Kolk (Stockholm University)
- Jan M. Hoem Award for Social Policy and Family Demography: Trude Lappegård, (University of Oslo);
- Outreach Award for Communication in Population Science: Liili Abuladze (Tallinn University).

Nominating Committee

At the General Assembly, a new (2020-2022) Nominating Committee was elected. "The Nominating Committee consists of five members who are elected by the General Assembly to hold office until the next General Assembly. Its task is to put forward to the Council a slate of candidates to be elected by the members as Officers and Council" (cf. Article 3 of the By-Laws).

The new committee is composed as follows: Jane Falkingham (outgoing EAPS President and CPC, Southampton, chair), Kieron Barclay (MPIDR, Rostock), Francesco Billari (Bocconi University, Milan), Alexia Fuernkranz (Wittgenstein Centre, Vienna), Monika Mynarska (Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski University, Warsaw).

Auditors

The General Assembly appointed Clara Cortina (Pompeu Fabra University, Barcelona) and Robert Naderi (Federal Institute for Population Research, Wiesbaden) as auditors for the 2020-2022 period. "Two members are appointed by the General Assembly as Auditors to examine the books, vouchers and accounts of the Association between two General Assemblies". (cf. Article 4.5 of the By- Laws).

Honorary President

Following a proposal by Honorary President Zsolt Spéder, the General Assembly elected by acclamation Jane Falkingham as Honorary President of EAPS.

European Population Conference 2022

The Council was happy to inform the General Assembly that the next European Population Conference 2022 will convene from 29 June – 2 July 2022 in Groningen, The Netherlands. EPC 2022 will be organized by EAPS in collaboration with the Netherlands Interdisciplinary

Demographic Institute NIDI and the University of Groningen. Although the organizers hope to welcome everybody in the city of Groningen, the format of the conference will be decided at a later stage and could be partly hybrid or virtual.

Closing

President Helga de Valk closed the General Assembly thanking all for their participation. She reminded members that a full report on EAPS activities in the previous years had recently been mailed to members and is available on the EAPS website.

EAPS Secretariat, November 2020